Editorial – 2011 World Series Game 6

2011 WS G6. Photo copyright 2011 MLB.

Most of you already know that I’m a baseball fan. My favorite team is the Minnesota Twins (who hold their Spring Training here in Ft Myers). And since 1993, come October, everything else stops for me while I watch the playoffs and the World Series. That includes creating ambient music.

So, allow me an off-topic editorial to finish out this month of my blog.

I’ve only seen one baseball game to match the tension and excitement of the 2011 World Series Game 6 on October 27.

Joe Carter‘s exuberant “touch them all” to end the 1993 World Series is the all-time favorite baseball game memory of my lifetime. I still feel the exact same emotion and adrenaline rush when I think about the Carter-Williams dual, watching that entire drama-filled game, or when I see Carter’s winning walk-off homer replayed in the highlight reels.

Last night’s Game 6 is the type of baseball game that keeps me watching baseball. Indeed, I’ve faithfully watched baseball for 18 years since October 23, 1993 to see another game of that magnitude. (El Duque‘s performance in the 6th inning of Game 3 of the 2005 ALDS against the Boston Red Sox came close and remains among my top favorite baseball memories.)

However, in the 2011 World Series Game 6, I was excited for both teams. The Texas Rangers could win Game 6 and win the Series. The St. Louis Cardinals could win Game 6 to force Game 7. Either way, it was a classic baseball situation. And other than Jim Thome (my all-time favorite slugger), Albert Pujols, Lance Berkman, and Josh Hamilton are the sluggers I would have most wanted to see in this type of situation.

Actually, I couldn’t have prayed to see a better baseball game, except to have been sitting in the stands.

Anthony DiComo of MLB.com writes baseball history better than I can:

“The Cardinals became the first team in history to score runs in the eighth, ninth, 10th and 11th innings of the same World Series game. The Rangers became the first team in history to blow three — count ’em, three — saves in the same World Series game.”

T.R. Sullivan of MLB.com recaps the drama: “The Rangers had a 7-5 lead going into the ninth inning with closer Neftali Feliz on the mound, and the Cardinals tied it up on a two-out, two-run triple by Freese. Josh Hamilton (Rangers) hit a two-run home run off reliever Jason Motte in the top of the 10th, but the Cardinals again tied it up in the bottom of the inning.”

“Lance Berkman (Cardinals) brought home the tying run in the 10th with a two-out single. Both Freese and Berkman had two strikes on them when they delivered their game-tying hits. Freese’s historic home run in the 11th, which brought the emotionally draining game to an end, came on a full-count pitch.”

Baseball is a great game because of memorable games like this one–even if they do only come along every 18 years or so.

But what makes baseball fascinating is its infinite possibilities. In theory, each game could last forever because the game doesn’t end until a hero pitches the final out, or until a hero runs all the way Home.

Comments

